Long Time No Update

Sorry for the 2+ weeks hiatus there.  It’s hard to update over dialup, and there’s no time when I’m at work to post even a quick update; the next time I hear someone say government employees are lazy, I’m going to punch that person in the mouth since I’ve never worked this hard in my life.  I get to work by 7:30 every weekday morning and hit the ground running.  Admittedly, I usually leave no later than 5, but the days are very full of U.S. citizens needing services from the embassy.  Wikipedia says there are more than 250,000 U.S. citizens living in the Philippines and at any given time, some percentage of them are on drugs they shouldn’t be, not taking the drugs they should, in jail, getting arrested, or wanting to vote, and they visit or call the embassy for help with their situation.   No two days have been the same so far, and the section is short staffed at the moment, so it’s been a roller coaster of a learning curve but I’m enjoying myself so far.

In other news, Steve and I went to the beach last weekend!  It was good to get out of the smog and hang out on the beach, and the Columbus Day holiday meant we could spend two nights in the resort’s little thatched huts.  There wasn’t any air conditioning, but fans and mosquito nets made for a surprisingly comfortable setup.

Also, our air baggage arrived, all 450 pounds of it!  We now have nonstick pans for our egg-scrambling, which is a big improvement, as well as the additional toiletries I’ve been missing.  The 3700 pounds of stuff we last saw in Atlanta has arrived also, but won’t be delivered until we are in our permanent housing, probably at the end of October.    The rest of the stuff we had in Virginia will be longer than that, which is sad because the hand mixer is in there, and it’s hard making cookies without one, to say nothing of the cake I’d like to try to bake.

4 thoughts on “Long Time No Update

  1. Finally! what’s the point of having a blog if you don’t update it? I am SO envious of your bravery and exciting lives!!!

    Hope to see photos soon.

    All is well here. Looks like 4 years of pay-to-drink-and-do-lots-of-homework are about to pay off for Melanie! She’s been thru several interviews w/Concentra – for a sales position selling health care services to Small&Med businesses in NoVA. Very exciting!

    Katie is coming up tomorrow (yesterday for you??) for a batchelorette party. We get her Friday night at Mel & Adam’s in Woodbridge. Can’t wait to see her and get the clan back together!

    It’s COLD here… 40’s at night, 60’s daytime. But the leaves are turning and it is beautiful.

    Let me know if I can send you anything… I think a pair of clocks w/local and EST are a good idea!

    Keep us posted and enjoy!

    Oh… BTW, got the postcard – Coco Beach looks AWESOME

    amy & bill

  2. Great to hear from the other side of the world. We’re switching to “Standard Time” over here next week, so y’all in tomorrowland won’t be quite so far ahead of us. Glad to hear that the pets arrived OK. I have some pictures to send including my new pet spider, so let me know when you have shaken the dial-up connection..or maybe you can show me how to find your on-line picture catalog.

Leave a comment